Aloha Maui

18 09 2011

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


For the last week on Kauai we got completely spoiled by our Kauaian friends Noah and Sarah. The spoils included surfing or stand up paddling everyday at Hanalei bay (nice swell by the end of the week), romps through the jungle, swims through lava tubes, cliff jumps and solid jams. In summary I am once again lacking in words for proper explanation, gratitude and gloriousness towards Hawaii and especially Kauai. Muchos Mahalos!

On Friday evening (9/9/11) my German travel buddy and I jumped on different flights to different islands ending our trip and exploration of Kauai. Ben headed back to Oahu in order to prep for his probable return to Germany. I caught a flight to Maui, Kahului, and stayed at a classic hostel called the Banana Bungalow. In the world of hostels this place is all time. Free tours every day of the week, all of the forms of entertainment you can ask for, a hot tub, hammocks, and free beer on Friday nights! If you are looking for a job they will be hiring about 5-7 new people in the next couple weeks, you will not be disappointed! I got to stay for a week, took several of the tours (the volcano hike and the little beach drum circle). Then I found another tour company, The Dutchtours. The Dutchtours was actually two gents from Holland (Ronald & Pepijn) that had rented a jeep and were down to do just about anything. So I jumped in with the goons for the backroads to Hana tour and then to the north shore for some of the best snorkling I’ve ever seen. We also were able to go surfing and wind surfing. All in all real solid times on Maui, unbelievable sunsets, a reunion with Nicky G from Kahumana, and a new dutch vocabulary that consists almost entirely of swear words… jonguh(boyee)!! ALOHA MAUI! Headed to the big island now to meet up with Oren in Hilo, who knows what that will entail! Shoots! Thanks for reading my blog (mom), I feel loved πŸ™‚

Actions

Information

2 responses

19 09 2011
Helen Vandeman

Hi, Boe,

Thanks for keeping me in the loop. When you return to the Big Island, see if you can find a couple friends of mine formerly of La Conner, Paul & Cynthia Murray. Paul has been many things – among them skipper and volcano tour guide. I haven’t talked to them in several years, but Paul might be able to give you some ideas and direction. Here’s the only listing for them I found in google, and Honokaa is where I knew them to be living before: Paul Murray (808) 775-8174; 45-3290 Ohia St, Honokaa, HI 96727-6935. Give them my love,
Helen

19 09 2011
Art Kleisen

See yourself windsurf on my blog http://www.artkleisen.wordpress.com you picked it up pretty fast! Aloha from Molokai, Art

Leave a Reply

